That Which Is Adorned (2007) for Mezzo-Soprano, violin, viola & cello

That Which Is Adorned (2007)

Instrumentation: Mezzo Soprano, Violin, Viola & Cello

Duration 27 minutes

Premiered by X-Band in December 2007. Rachel Calloway – Mez. Sop., Noah Geller – Violin, Eric Nowlin – Viola, Jason Calloway – Cello

Three settings of English translations of Arab-Andalusian poems. The settings are inspired by the traditional genre of muwashshahaat music and the text is from Cola Franzen’s Poems of Arab Andalusia.

I. To A Persian Reed Blown About By The Wind

II. Absence

III. White Stallion

To purchase score and parts please e-mail: publishing(at)kr-music(dot)com